Five faculty members nominated for HOPE Award

Honor to be given at Nov. 20 football game

KU seniors have selected five faculty members as finalists for the 2010 HOPE (Honor for an Outstanding Progressive Educator) Award.

The finalists will be honored at a private reception Nov. 16, in the Kansas Union. The winner will be announced Nov. 20, after first quarter of the KU-Oklahoma State University football game in Memorial Stadium.

The finalists are

— Kerry E. Benson, lecturer in journalism

— Francis Bernard “Bernie” Kish, lecturer in health, sport and exercise science

— Denise Linville, lecturer in journalism

— Diane Nielsen, associate professor of education

— Tara S. Welch, associate professor of classics

Established by the Class of 1959, the HOPE Award is the only honor given exclusively by students for teaching excellence. Winners receive a monetary award and recognition on a permanent plaque displayed in the Kansas Union.

Nominations were solicited from the senior class by e-mail. The senior class then voted on the top nominations. Five faculty receiving the most nominations were interviewed by representatives of the Board of Class Officers and its Senior Advisory Board.

At the reception, Kelly M. Unger, president of the Board of Class Officers, will welcome the finalists and guests. Megan Do, HOPE Award chair, and Mathew Shepard, Board of Class Officers vice president, will join Unger in providing overviews of each finalist’s teaching career at KU.

In Memorial Stadium, Provost Jeffery Vitter will present the award to the winner. The Board of Class Officers and Lori Reesor, associate vice provost for Student Success, will join the provost in the award presentation. Reesor is adviser for the Board of Class Officers.

In some years, more than one award has been bestowed. In 1972, three professors each received a HOPE Award: the late John Bremner in journalism, Arno Knapper in business and Elizabeth Schultz in English. In 2007, Craig Martin, professor and chair of ecology and evolutionary biology, and Edward McBride, lecturer in civil, environmental and architectural engineering, received the award. Three professors have received the award more than once: the late Clark E. Bricker in chemistry received the award four times; the late Charles “Rick” Snyder in psychology, three times; and Martin twice, in 2002 and 2007.

Campus closeup
Kevin Liu, associate director, Confucius Institute


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).