Search committee named to find new School of Business dean

Provost Jeff Vitter has announced a search advisory committee to find a new dean for the School of Business.

Dean William L. Fuerst will step down in June after serving 11 years, the second-longest tenure of any business dean at KU.

The committee will conduct a nationwide search. The committee will be co-chaired by James P. Guthrie, the William and Judy Docking Professor of Business, and M.D. (Mike) Michaelis, president and chairman of the board of Emprise Bank.

Other members include:

• Christopher Anderson, associate professor of business

• Danny Anderson, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

• Audra Boone, associate professor of business

• Marnie Clawson, president, Clawson Benefits Concepts

• Fred Coulson, managing director, Five Elms Capital

• DaNeale Diggins, junior in accounting

• Michael Ettredge, Crown/Sherr Professor of Business

• Mary Lee Hummert, vice provost for faculty development

• Jennifer Jordan, director of Business Career Services

• Kissan Joseph, associate professor of business

• Laura Poppo, professor of business

• Joshua Rosenbloom, associate vice chancellor of research and graduate studies and professor of economics

• Susan Scholz, associate professor of business

The committee will be assisted by R. William Funk and Associates of Dallas, Texas.

Campus closeup
Kevin Liu, associate director, Confucius Institute


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access,, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.